Which Halo Top Flavors Are Gluten Free?

Halo Top certifies only some of its flavors. Check out our list to find out which ones.

Table of Contents

For people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities, finding a high-quality, low-calorie ice cream can be difficult. Gluten-free food is often full of fillers and sugars to make them more palatable, which is frustrating for someone looking for a GF guilt-free treat. Halo Top has become a fan favorite in the low-sugar and high-protein ice cream world, but is Halo Top gluten-free? Does Halo Top offer certified gluten-free ice cream that is safe for celiacs?

Follow us as we dive into the world of gluten-free Halo Top and give you tips on which products to avoid and which products are safe for munching!

Gluten-Free Grubbin’ is supported by its readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through our links. We promise we’ll only share products that provide value to the gluten-free community.

Halo Top Gluten-Free Ice Cream List

Here’s the scoop (Haha! Get it?): Some Halo Top ice cream flavors are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, but not all of them are. Look for the GFCO label to make sure you’re being safe.

Or, better yet, just follow this list of Halo Top certified gluten-free ice cream flavors:

  • Birthday Cake
  • Candy Bar
  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Almond Crunch
  • Chocolate Mocha Chip
  • Dairy Free Chocolate Almond Crunch
  • Dairy Free Peanut Butter Cup
  • Dairy Free Sea Salt Caramel
  • Lemon Cake
  • Mango Sorbet
  • Mint Chip
  • Oatmeal Cookie
  • Peaches & Cream
  • Peanut Butter Cup
  • Pistachio
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Sea Salt Caramel
  • Strawberry
  • Strawberry Sorbet
  • Vanilla Bean

Important: Some Halo Top flavors have ingredients that don’t appear to contain gluten, but some of those products do not have a gluten-free label. We suggest you avoid these items entirely. There is a reason that Halo Top hasn’t certified those flavors, which may mean that they contain hidden gluten. My bet is that it’s hiding in the “natural flavors.” Stick to the items listed above to be safe.

Don’t forget to check out our complete list of gluten-free ice cream brands.

Are Halo Top Fruit Pops Gluten-Free?

A common question we’ve seen is, “Are Halo Top fruit pops gluten-free?” The answer is: We have no idea! Halo Top’s fruit pops don’t appear to have gluten in their ingredients, but they also don’t carry the GFCO label like some of their ice cream pints. Again, we’re concerned about the “Natural Flavor” ingredient on a product with no gluten-free labeling.

We’ve chosen to stay away from the Halo Top fruit pops until we learn more information about them. In the meantime, if you’re looking for a fruity cold treat, you can choose from these gluten-free Halo Top fruit sorbet options:

  • Mango Sorbet
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Strawberry Sorbet

Halo Top Quality Control

Now we know which Halo Top flavors are gluten-free, let’s talk about how the company keeps consumers safe from gluten and allergen cross-contact.

Halo Top’s website has information for each ice cream flavor, such as whether it’s kosher, certified gluten-free, or certified vegan. However, they don’t specify if those products are manufactured in a dedicated facility or what steps they take to prevent cross-contact between their flavors. We love to see the GFCO certification, but we need more answers to keep everyone safe. We reached out to Halo Top with our questions, and this is their reply:

Thank you for contacting Halo Top Consumer Response.  We appreciate hearing from our valued consumers.

Wells Enterprises, Inc. (“Wells”), manufacturer of ice cream and frozen novelty products, follows all federal laws and regulations and is committed to supplying the highest quality and safest ice cream and frozen novelty products to its consumers. While many of our branded ice creams and frozen novelty products are free of gluten, Wells does not presently validate or certify that our products are “gluten-free” and, consequently, we do not label our (Wells) branded products as such. We provide all required nutritional information on the nutrition facts panel and ingredient label on each package to assist consumers in purchasing products that meet their dietary and lifestyle needs. 

Or you may call us at 1-800-331-0830 and ask about your favorite flavors.

If I can be of additional assistance, feel free to contact me.

Halo Top Customer Service

Halo Top’s response leaves us with some questions. They do have certified gluten-free products, so we aren’t exactly sure what they are talking about when they say they don’t. This feels like a canned response that may be out of date, but we’re going to do more investigating. We’ll update this article when we find out.

Halo Top’s email also doesn’t give any information regarding how Halo Top cleans and sanitizes its manufacturing lines between production runs. Without more information, we recommend contacting their customer service through their website or calling the number above to ask them questions you might have about their products.

Is Halo Top Gluten Free?

You may be wondering now more than ever if Halo Top is gluten-free, but we feel confident in the GFCO certification. We also repeat our advice to stick to only the products with the GFCO label.

Go get your grub on!

Gluten-free Grubbin'

Recommended Articles