Best Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands: A Complete List (2024)

Finding gluten-free ice cream options at the grocery store can be a maddening process. Use this list to guide you.

Table of Contents

I’m an ice cream fanatic. I want ice cream even when the snow is beating at my door. The frustrating thing about buying ice cream, though, is that it can be a major pain to find a product that’s safe for a gluten-free diet. I don’t want to stand in the freezer section for 15 minutes trying to find gluten-free ice cream brands I can trust.

You’re probably the same way, so that’s why we’ve created this gluten-free ice cream list to help you find a GF ice cream brand you feel safe turning to.

We’ve added specific GF ice cream brands to this list according to an in-depth, multi-pronged testing process that looks at:

  • Ingredients: We understand that gluten-free people have different dietary restrictions, from dairy-free to sugar-free. Our approach is comprehensive, catering to a wide range of preferences, because we understand that a one-size-fits-all solution isn’t right for everyone.
  • Cross-Contact: How does the ice cream brand work to keep consumers safe from gluten cross-contact during production and packaging processes?
  • Taste: Does the gluten-free ice cream taste like the “real thing,” and are there multiple flavors to choose from?
  • Price: Does the price fall in line with the market average, or are you paying a huge gluten-free tax?

On staff, we have a trained pastry chef and gluten-free foodies with over a decade of experience living a gluten-free lifestyle. So we know what to look for in terms of safety, taste and price.

Disclaimer: The content provided in this article is intended solely for educational and informational purposes. It is not meant to replace professional medical advice. For personalized health guidance, please consult with a licensed healthcare provider.

Have you ever had donut ice cream sandwiches? Use one of these gluten-free donuts to make a sinfully sweet ice cream treat.

17 Popular Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands

Save time while shopping by referencing this list of the best gluten-free ice cream options and the flavors that are safe for your gluten-free lifestyle (because not all of them are).

We’ve also included helpful information about where you can buy these items and how the ice cream companies avoid gluten cross-contact.

Gluten-Free Grubbin’ is supported by its readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through our links. We promise we’ll only share products that provide value to the gluten-free community.

Arctic Zero logo

Arctic Zero 

Arctic Zero offers non-dairy and certified plant-based frozen desserts that are non-GMO project verified. These pints are also always free from artificial ingredients and boast 150-300 calories for the whole pint. (And I can easily throw back an entire pint in one sitting.)

This GF ice cream is also vegan, keto-friendly, low glycemic, and kosher.

Here’s a list of Arctic Zero gluten-free ice cream flavors:

  • Cake Batter
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Classic Vanilla
  • Cookie Shake
  • Hint of Mint
  • Pistachio
  • Purely Chocolate
  • Salted Caramel
  • Strawberry Shortcake
  • Vanilla Latte

One thing that our expert gluten-free product testers like about Arctic Zero ice cream is that they don’t use sugar alcohols like erythritol in their products. That’s because sugar alcohols can cause stomach bloating and cramping.

Instead, Arctic Zero is sweetened with organic cane sugar and monk fruit, which studies show is a healthy sweetener for diabetics.

Ingredients: Arctic Zero classic vanilla gluten-free ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Purified Water, Organic Cane Sugar, Allulose, Sugarcane Fiber, And/Or Vegetable Fiber, Faba Bean Protein Concentrate, Gum Blend (Acacia, Tara, Guar), Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Monk Fruit Concentrate.

Cross-Contact: All Arctic Zero products are certified gluten free. They also use strict sanitation policies to prevent cross-contact. (Source: Arctic Zero)

Ben & Jerry's logo

Ben & Jerry’s 

Ben and Jerry’s is a beloved company for so many reasons. Not only do they make non-GMO ice cream with cage-free eggs, but they also use Fairtrade Certified ingredients and support ethical farming through the Caring Dairy mission. On top of that, Ben and Jerry’s believes in using responsibly sourced packaging.

Here’s a list of gluten-free ice cream Ben and Jerry’s offers:

Ben & Jerry’s Certified Gluten-Free Ice Cream Flavors

  • Cherry Garcia® (pints and mini cups)
  • Cherry Garcia FroYo
  • Cherry Garcia Non-Dairy (certified vegan)
  • Chunky Monkey®
  • Coffee Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz®
  • Karamel Sutra Core*®
  • Karamel Sutra Core® Non-Dairy (certified vegan)
  • New York Super Fudge Chunk®
  • Phish Food®
  • Phish Food® Non-Dairy (vegan)
  • Pistachio Pistachio
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla Caramel Fudge

*I think Karamel Sutra Core is by far the best gluten-free ice cream ever made! It’s making my mouth water just thinking about it.

Ben & Jerry’s Naturally Gluten-Free Ice Cream Flavors

  • Butter Pecan Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Buttery Swirl Ice Cream
  • Go-To Cold Brew Ice Cream
  • Mint Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream
  • Punch Line Ice Cream
  • Triple Caramel Chunk Ice Cream
  • Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet
  • Lemonade Sorbet
  • Raspberry Low Fat Frozen Yogurt
  • Coconut Almond Fudge Chip Non-Dairy
  • Coffee Caramel Fudge Non-Dairy
  • Cold Brew Coffee Fudge Chip Non-Dairy

Because Ben and Jerry’s gluten-free ice cream caters to so many dietary restrictions, this brand is our editor’s top pick.

What she loves the most is that Ben and Jerry’s doesn’t take away from one group to give to the other. “Ben & Jerry’s does ice cream right,” says Megen Morris, our trained pastry chef. “So often brands offer only gluten-free and dairy-free options, which can alienate consumers who love dairy. With Ben & Jerry’s, everyone is happy.”

Ingredients: Ben and Jerry’s certified gluten-free vanilla ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Cream, Skim Milk, Liquid Sugar (Sugar, Water), Water, Egg Yolks, Sugar, Guar Gum, Vanilla Extract, Vanilla Beans, Carrageenan. (Allergens: Egg and Milk)

Cross-Contact: Ben & Jerry’s follows strict sanitation policies to help prevent allergen cross-contact. They also work closely with their suppliers to verify all ingredients so that their packaging has the most up-to-date ingredient labels. If there is a chance of allergen cross-contact, their products will always have an “Allergy Information” statement.

That information is helpful for an allergy to wheat, but it doesn’t protect people who get sick when consuming gluten. Luckily, Ben & Jerry’s is another of the gluten-free ice cream brands to put a GFCO certification logo on products deemed safe for people with gluten sensitivity. (Source: Ben & Jerry’s)

Price: $6.99 (according to Ben & Jerry’s website)

Blue Bell Ice Cream logo

Blue Bell Ice Cream

Blue Bell ice cream started in Texas, but it is now available in 23 states. If you don’t live in one of those states, you can order Blue Bell online (they ship nationwide), but you’ll be getting it for a premium.

Here’s a list of gluten-free ice cream Blue Bell offers:

  • Buttered Pecan
  • Dutch Chocolate
  • Homemade Vanilla
  • Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Moo-llennium Crunch
  • Natural Vanilla Bean
  • Pecan Pralines ‘n Cream
  • Rocky Road
  • Strawberries & Homemade Vanilla
  • Strawberry
  • The Great Divide
  • Ultimate Neapolitan
  • Banana Split Sundae
  • Butter Crunch
  • Cotton Candy
  • French Vanilla
  • Happy Tracks
  • Mocha Almond Fudge
  • Orange Swirl
  • Peaches & Homemade Vanilla
  • Peppermint
  • Spiced Pumpkin Pecan
  • Banana Nut
  • Black Walnut
  • Cherry Vanilla
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Coffee
  • Creole Cream Cheese
  • Lemon
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Pistachio Almond
  • Rocky Mountain Road
  • Rum Raisin
  • Country Vanilla
  • Homemade Vanilla

Ingredients: Blue Bell homemade vanilla ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Milk, Cream, Sugar, Skim Milk, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Natural and Artificial Vanilla Flavor, Cellulose Gum, Vegetable Gums (Guar, Carrageenan, Carob Bean), Salt, Annatto Color. (Allergens: Milk)

Cross-Contact: People commonly ask is Blue Bell ice cream gluten-free because their website has exactly zero information about allergens (apart from the nutritional information) and how they avoid cross-contact. To gain further insight, we contacted them.

In an email response, we were given the list above of all Blue Bell gluten-free ice cream options. Also, Blue Bell said that they follow manufacturing and cleaning policies that get rid of the possibility of cross-contact in their products. (Source: Blue Bell)

Breyers logo


Breyer’s ice cream is made from naturally sourced ingredients, including 100% Grade A milk and cream. This means their cows aren’t treated with artificial growth hormones. They also use sustainable sourced vanilla and fruit (except their raspberries).

Here’s a list of Breyers gluten-free ice cream flavors:

  • Black Raspberry Chocolate
  • Butter Pecan
  • CarbSmart Chocolate
  • CarbSmart Vanilla
  • Cherry Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Coffee
  • Creamsicle
  • Extra Creamy Chocolate
  • Extra Creamy Vanilla
  • French Vanilla
  • Homemade Vanilla
  • Lactose Free Chocolate
  • Lactose Free Vanilla
  • Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Natural Strawberry
  • Natural Vanilla
  • No Sugar Added Butter Pecan
  • No Sugar Added Caramel Swirl
  • No Sugar Added Vanilla
  • No Sugar Added Vanilla Chocolate Strawberry
  • Non-Dairy Vanilla Peanut Butter
  • Peach
  • Salted Caramel
  • Vanilla Chocolate
  • Vanilla Chocolate Strawberry
  • Vanilla Fudge Twirl

Ingredients: Breyer’s natural vanilla ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Milk, Cream, Sugar, Vegetable Gum (Tara), Natural Flavor (Allergens: Milk)

Cross-Contact: Breyers says that most of their ice creams are gluten free, and they are in the process of updating their packaging to make it easier to find their naturally gluten-free products. In an email reply to Gluten-Free Grubbin’, Breyers said that they have a very strict Allergen Management Program in their facilities, which helps them avoid cross-contact.

Additionally, if any of their products have the possibility of containing gluten, that product will always carry a “may contain” warning. (Source: Breyers)

Organic Nectars logo

Cashewtopia by Organic Nectars

If you’re looking for an organic, dairy-free, gluten-free gelato, then you need to try Cashewtopia. This vegan ice cream is made with organic agave and coconut palm nectars, so it’s a low-glycemic dessert. It’s also low in saturated fat because it’s made from cashews, which are linked to a decreased risk of cardiovascular diseases.

Here’s a gluten-free ice cream list for Cashewtopia:

  • Cherry Chocolate Swirl
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Hazelnut
  • Mint Chocolate Swirl
  • Pistachio
  • Vanilla Bean

Ingredients: Cashewtopia vanilla bean ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Raw Organic Cashews, Purified Water, Organic Nectars AgaveLight (Raw Organic Agave Syrup), Organic Gum Acacia (Nutritional Acacia Sap Fiber), Organic Safflower Oil, Organic Agave Inulin (Nutritional Prebiotic Fiber), Organic Nectars PalmSweet (Organic Evaporated Coconut Palm Nectar), Organic Vanilla Bean, Organic Vanilla Extract, Organic Vanilla Flavor, Organic Guar Gum (Nutritional Jaguar Plant Seed Fiber), Pink Crystal Salt. May contain shell pieces; made in a facility that processes tree nuts.

Cross-Contact: Add Cashewtopia to the list of gluten-free ice cream brands because all Cashewtopia gelato products are gluten free! We wanted to learn more about how Organic Nectars keeps gluten out of their production lines, so we contacted them. In an email response, ON simply said that their facilities are dedicated gluten free. (Source: Organic Nectars)

Coconut Bliss logo

Cosmic Bliss (Formerly “Coconut Bliss”)

Cosmic Bliss is a great choice for someone looking for non-GMO, organic, certified gluten-free ice cream.

Note that Cosmic Bliss ice cream contains less than 0.35% organic guar gum, which studies show may help improve gut health.

Here’s a list of gluten-free ice cream made by Cosmic Bliss:

  • Vanilla Bean Nirvana
  • Infinite Coconut
  • Sea Salt Caramel & Chocolate
  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Salty Peanut Butter Chip
  • Vanilla Brownie Swirl
  • Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip
  • Golden Banana Brownie Swirl
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
  • Cold Brew Coffee
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Walnut Brownie
  • Chocolate Hazelnut Decadence
  • Mint Chip Galactica
  • Peruvian Mocha Crunch
  • Ginger Cookie & Caramel
  • Sweet Cherry Amaretto

Ingredients: Cosmic Bliss Vanilla Bean Nirvana contains the following ingredients:

Whole Milk*, Heavy Cream*, Coconut Syrup*, Nonfat Milk*, Egg Yolk*, Vanilla Extract*, Guar Gum*, Vanilla Bean Specks*. *Certified Organic (Allergens: Milk, Egg, Coconut)

Cross-Contact: Cosmic Bliss is one of only a few certified gluten-free ice cream brands – certified by the GFCO. Also, their products are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. (Source: Cosmic Bliss)

Dreyer's logo on top of Edy's logo

Dreyer’s (aka “Edy’s” on the East coast)

Dreyer’s is one of those brands that most of us grew up with because it’s been around for almost 100 years. If you’re looking for classic flavors and a ride down memory lane, then Dreyer’s is what you need.

Unfortunately, if you’re on a dairy-free diet, Dreyer’s is not for you. But they do offer light, no sugar-added gluten-free ice cream flavors.

Here’s Edy’s and Dreyer’s gluten-free ice cream list:

  • Slow Churned Triple-Filled Creamy Chocolatey Cores
  • Slow Churned Triple-Filled Salted Caramel Cores
  • Slow Churned Butter Pecan
  • Slow Churned Caramel Delight
  • Slow Churned Chocolate
  • Slow Churned Chocolate Chip
  • Slow Churned Classic Vanilla
  • Slow Churned Coffee
  • Slow Churned French Vanilla
  • Slow Churned Fudge Tracks
  • Slow Churned Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Slow Churned Neapolitan
  • Slow Churned Peanut Butter Cup
  • Slow Churned Rocky Road
  • Slow Churned Strawberry
  • Slow Churned Vanilla Bean
  • Limited Edition Slow Churned Frozen Hot Chocolate
  • Limited Edition Slow Churned Peppermint
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Butter Pecan
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Fudge Tracks
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Neapolitan
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Triple Chocolate
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Vanilla
  • No Sugar Added Slow Churned Vanilla Bean
  • Dreyer’s Classics Butter Pecan
  • Dreyer’s Classics Caramel Delight
  • Dreyer’s Classics Chocolate
  • Dreyer’s Classics Chocolate Chip
  • Dreyer’s Classics Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup
  • Dreyer’s Classics Coffee
  • Dreyer’s Classics French Vanilla
  • Dreyer’s Classics Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Dreyer’s Classics Mocha Almond Fudge
  • Dreyer’s Classics Neapolitan
  • Dreyer’s Classics Rocky Road
  • Dreyer’s Classics Spumoni
  • Dreyer’s Classics Strawberry
  • Dreyer’s Classics Vanilla
  • Dreyer’s Classics Vanilla & Chocolate
  • Dreyer’s Classics Vanilla Bean
  • Limited Edition Dreyer’s Classics Peppermint
  • Limited Edition Dreyer’s Classics Pumpkin Spice Latte
  • Limited Edition Dreyer’s Classics Touchdown Sundae
  • Limited Edition Dreyer’s Classics Triple Peanut Butter

Ingredients: Dreyer’s Classics Vanilla gluten-free ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Skim Milk, Cream, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey, Guar Gum, Carob Bean Gum, Monoglycerides, Natural Flavor, Annatto Color (Allergens: Milk)

Cross-Contact: According to Dreyer’s, both Dreyer’s and Edy’s ice cream is gluten-free as long as the flavor doesn’t have added bakery products. For example, their Mocha Almond Fudge is gluten-free, but their Triple Fudge Brownie is not because it has brownies (wheat) added in.

It wasn’t clear how Dreyer’s avoids cross-contact in their facilities, so we emailed them to find out. They told us that while they don’t have gluten-free factories, they do conduct testing to ensure that all products that are labeled gluten free come in at less than 20 ppm of gluten. Dreyer’s advises that you always check the label because ingredients and manufacturing processes can change. (Source: Dreyer’s)

Haagaen-Dazs logo


Here’s a list of gluten-free ice cream Haagen Dazs produces:

  • Decadent Collection Banana Peanut Butter Chip Ice Cream
  • Butter Pecan Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Salted Fudge Truffle Non-Dairy
  • Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel HEAVEN Light Ice Cream
  • Coconut Caramel Non-Dairy
  • Coffee Chip Ice Cream (Formerly Java Chip)
  • Coffee Ice Cream
  • Cold Brew Espresso Chip HEAVEN Light Ice Cream
  • Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
  • Green Tea Ice Cream
  • Decadent Collection Honey Salted Caramel Almond Ice Cream
  • Mango Ice Cream
  • Mint Chip Ice Cream
  • Peanut Butter Chip HEAVEN Light Ice Cream
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge Non-Dairy
  • Limited Edition Peppermint Bark Ice Cream
  • Pineapple Coconut Ice Cream
  • Pistachio Ice Cream
  • Rocky Road Ice Cream
  • Rum Raisin Ice Cream
  • Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Swiss Almond Ice Cream
  • White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Ice Cream

Ingredients: Haagen-Dazs vanilla gluten-free ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Cream, concentrated skim milk, sugar, liquid egg yolk, vanilla extract. (Allergens: May contain peanuts / nuts.)

Cross-Contact: Haagen-Dazs says that their ice cream is safe from gluten unless the item has added bakery products in it. The company follows cleaning and sanitizing policies to help prevent gluten cross-contact. (Source: Haagen-Dazs)

Halo Top logo

Halo Top

Here’s the list of gluten-free ice cream Halo Top offers:

  • Birthday Cake
  • Candy Bar
  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Almond Crunch
  • Chocolate Mocha Chip
  • Lemon Cake
  • Mint Chip
  • Oatmeal Cookie
  • Peaches & Cream
  • Peanut Butter Cup
  • Pistachio
  • Sea Salt Caramel
  • Strawberry
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Dairy Free Chocolate Almond Crunch
  • Dairy Free Peanut Butter Cup
  • Dairy Free Sea Salt Caramel

Ingredients: Halo Top vanilla bean ice cream contains the following gluten-free ingredients:

Ultrafiltered Skim Milk*, Skim Milk, Erythritol, Soluble Corn Fiber, Cream, Sugar, Vegetable Glycerine, Egg Yolks, Inulin, Contains 1% or less of Natural Flavors, Ground Vanilla Beans, Cellulose Gel, Cellulose Gum, Sea Salt, Stevia Leaf Extract (Reb M), Caramel Color, Vitamin A Palmitate. *Not an ingredient in regular ice cream (Allergens: Egg, Milk)

Cross-Contact: The above-listed Halo Top products are certified gluten-free by the GFCO. However, Halo Top doesn’t share any information about the steps they take to keep gluten out of their facilities. We’ll update you if we find out more.

Nada Moo! logo


Here’s the list of gluten-free ice cream made by NadaMoo!:

  • Pistachio Nut
  • Rockiest Road
  • Banana Caramel Crunch
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Strawberry Cheesecake
  • Birthday Cake Cookie Dough
  • Cookie Dough Fudge
  • Caramel Cold Brew & Cookies
  • Marshmallow Stardust
  • Organic Chocolate
  • Maple Pecan
  • Cookies & Creme
  • Organic Vanilla Bean
  • Organic Mint Chip
  • Organic Chocolate Peanut Butter

Ingredients: NadaMoo! certified gluten-free vanilla ice cream is made with the following ingredients:

Organic Coconut Milk, Water, Chicory Root Fiber, Organic Inulin, Organic Erythritol, Organic Allulose, Guar Gum, Locust Bean Gum, Organic Vanilla Bean Powder, Natural Flavor, Stevia. (Allergens: Coconut)

Cross-Contact: NadaMoo! is one of the brands of gluten-free ice cream that offers certified gluten-free products. They have multiple manufacturing streams, so some facilities are dedicated gluten free, while others are shared.

However, the shared facilities are still certified GF. NadaMoo! follows cleaning, manufacturing and testing procedures that ensure all of their products come in below 5 ppm of gluten. (Source: NadaMoo!)

Nick’s Ice Cream logo

Nick’s Ice Cream 

Nick’s Ice Cream is perfect for those on a gluten-free keto diet. They don’t use any synthetic ingredients or artificial sweeteners. Nick’s also offers vegan, gluten-free ice cream, but we couldn’t find an updated list on their website, so we’ve decided not to include them here.

The following is Nick’s gluten-free ice cream list:

  • Birthdäg Cake
  • Butter Pekan
  • Coffee Chokladchip
  • Mint Chokladchip
  • Peanöt Butter Karamell
  • Peanöt Choklad Cup
  • Pumpkin Spice Swirl
  • Raspbär Swirl
  • Rocky Fjord
  • Sälta Karamell
  • Strawbär Swirl
  • Swedish Choklad
  • Swedish Munchies
  • Swedish Pistasch
  • Swedish Vanilj

Ingredients: Nick’s Swedish vanilj (vanilla) light gluten-free ice cream is made from these ingredients:

Cream, Dairy Protein Blend (Water, Milk Protein Concentrate, Whey Protein Isolate, Allulose), Water, Soluble Corn Fiber, Allulose, EPG (Modified Plant-Based Oil), Erythritol, Less than 2% of: Coconut Oil, Ground Vanilla Bean, Natural Flavor, Steviol Glycosides, Salt, Guar Gum, Cellulose Gum, Cellulose Gel, Mono & Diglycerides. (Allergens: Milk, Coconut.)

Cross-Contact: Some of their products are certified by the GFCO, and Nick’s website clearly lists the above options as gluten free on their website. However, in an email to Gluten-Free Grubbin’, a Nick’s rep told us that they don’t follow any protocols in their facilities to prevent gluten cross-contact. They advise not eating their products if you have a “severe gluten allergy.”

Given that they have a GFCO certification, I believe that Nick’s just needs to update their ice cream information, but please check for the GFCO label before eating the ice cream. (Source: Nicks)

Snoqualmie Ice Cream logo

Snoqualmie Ice Cream

This is a list of Snoqualmie’s gluten-free ice cream:

  • Snoqualmie Organic Chocolate
  • Snoqualmie Organic Lavender
  • Snoqualmie Organic Mint Chip
  • Snoqualmie Organic Salty Caramel
  • Snoqualmie Organic Sweet Berries & Cream
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream French Lavender
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream French Vanilla
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Ginger
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Green Tea
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Iced Latte
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Island Coconut
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Lemon
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Mint Chocolate Chips
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream MMMaple Whiskey
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Mountain Blackberry
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Mukilteo Mudd
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Salted Caramel
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Smooth Bourbon
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream Vanilla Bean

Ingredients: Snoqualmie Vanilla Bean ice cream, which has a gluten-free label, contains these ingredients:

Cream, Milk, Skim Milk, Sugar, Sugared Egg Yolks (Egg Yolks, Sugar), Madagascar Vanilla Extract, Less Than 0.4% of (Locust Bean Gum, Guar Gum). (Allergens: Milk, Eggs) Manufactured on Shared Equipment That Processes: Coconut, Milk, Eggs, Wheat, and Soy.

Cross-Contact: Because Snoqualmie Ice Cream doesn’t talk about cross-contact on their website, we emailed them to find out more. In response, they merely stated, “We have a robust allergen program.”

They also clarified which ice creams are gluten free, explaining, “Any of our ice cream without inclusions which contain gluten are gluten-free.” Translation: If the ice cream doesn’t have typical gluten-containing add-ins (like brownies, cookies, cones), then it should be gluten free.

We encourage you to check the label to ensure that you’re actually eating ice cream without gluten, just to be safe.

So Delicious Dairy Free logo

So Delicious

Review this list of So Delicious gluten-free ice cream for dairy-free eaters:

  • Bananas Foster
  • Creamy Chocolate
  • Snickerdoodle
  • Salted Caramel Cluster
  • Dark Chocolate Truffle
  • Very Vanilla
  • Chocolate Cookies ‘N Cream
  • Chocolate Salted Caramel
  • S’mores
  • Creamy Vanilla Bean
  • Chocolate Hazelnut Brownie
  • Peanut Butter and Raspberry
  • Oatmeal Cookie
  • Caramel Apple Crumble
  • Vanilla Bean No Sugar Added
  • Mint Chip No Sugar Added
  • Chocolate No Sugar Added
  • Butter Pecan No Sugar Added
  • Coconut Macaroon
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Oh-So Strawberry
  • Mocha Almond Fudge
  • Mint Chip
  • Cookie Dough
  • Cold Brew Coffee
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl
  • Creamy Vanilla
  • Mint Chip Frozen Mousse
  • Tiramisu Frozen Mousse
  • Mango Swirl Frozen Mousse
  • Peanut Butter Swirl Frozen Mousse
  • Strawberry Swirl Frozen Mousse
  • Salted Caramel Swirl Frozen Mousse
  • Chocolate Chip Frozen Mousse
  • Lemon Swirl Frozen Mousse

Ingredients: So Delicious Very Vanilla ice cream is made from these ingredients:

Cashewmilk (Filtered Water, Cashews), Cane Sugar, Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Pea Protein, Sea Salt, Guar Gum, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavors, Locust Bean Gum. (Allergens: Cashews, Coconut)

Cross-Contact: So Delicious is another gluten-free ice cream brand that is completely gluten free! They also do testing to ensure that their products are safe from the big eight allergens. (Source: So Delicious

Talenti gelato & sorbetto logo


Check out this list to find gluten-free ice cream Talenti produces:

  • Alphonso Mango Sorbetto
  • Belgian Chocolate Gelato
  • Black Raspberry Chocolate Chip Gelato
  • Caribbean Coconut Gelato
  • Coconut Almond Chocolate Gelato
  • Coffee Chocolate Chip Gelato
  • Cold Brew Coffee Sorbetto
  • Dark Chocolate Sorbetto
  • Double Dark Chocolate Gelato
  • Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Gelato
  • Madagascan Vanilla Bean Gelato
  • Mediterranean Mint Gelato
  • Old World Eggnog Gelato
  • Organic Brown Butter Caramel
  • Organic Chocolate Mousse Gelato
  • Organic Ginger Matcha Gelato
  • Organic Oak-Aged Vanilla Gelato
  • Pacific Coast Pistachio Gelato
  • Peanut Butter Fudge Sorbetto
  • Peppermint Bark Gelato
  • Roman Raspberry Sorbetto
  • Southern Butter Pecan Gelato
  • Strawberry Hibiscus Sorbetto
  • Vanilla Caramel Swirl Gelato

Ingredients: Talenti Madagascan Vanilla Bean Gelato contains these ingredients:

Milk, Sugar, Cream, Dextrose, Vanilla Extract, Sunflower Lecithin, Carob Bean Gum, Guar Gum, Natural Flavor, Lemon Peel (Allergens: Milk)

Cross-Contact: Most of Talenti’s products are gluten free, but they don’t have dedicated gluten-free production lines. However, they do have a strict cleaning and sanitizing plan that they follow to prevent cross-contact. (Source: Talenti)

Tillamook logo


Here’s a list of Tillamook gluten-free ice cream flavors:

  • Old-Fashioned Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Oregon Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Tillamook Mudslide Ice Cream
  • Banana Split Ice Cream
  • Caramel Butter Pecan Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Coffee Almond Fudge Ice Cream
  • French Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • Mountain Huckleberry Ice Cream
  • Neapolitan Ice Cream
  • Oregon Dark Cherry Ice Cream
  • Oregon Hazelnut & Salted Caramel Ice Cream
  • Peaches and Cream Ice Cream
  • Rocky Road Ice Cream
  • Udderly Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
  • White Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream
  • Double Nutty Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Stumptown Cold Brew Coffee Ice Cream
  • Sea Salt & Honeycomb Toffee Frozen Custard
  • Dark Chocolate & Red Raspberry Frozen Custard
  • Maple & Candied Pecan Frozen Custard
  • Salted Caramel Frozen Custard

Ingredients: Tillamook Old-Fashioned Vanilla ice cream contains the following ingredients:

Cream, Skim Milk, Milk, Sugar, Pasteurized Egg Yolks, Vanilla Extract, Tara Gum, Guar Gum, Natural Flavor (Allergens: Milk, Egg)

Cross-Contact: Is Tillamook ice cream gluten free for sure? How do we know because it’s not a GF-certified brand? Tillamook says that all of their flavors are gluten free except for flavors that include baked items. They don’t have any information online regarding how they avoid allergen cross-contact, so we reached out to them.

In an email response, Tillamook told us that all their ice cream is made on shared equipment; however, they follow strong cleaning and sanitation practices to eliminate the possibility of cross-contact. It takes them 3-4 hours between production runs to do their cleaning. They add the shared equipment disclaimer on their products just to be extra safe. (Source: Tillamook)

Turkey Hill logo

Turkey Hill

Check out this list to find gluten-free ice cream Turkey Hill offers:

  • American Dream Trio’politan
  • Banana Split
  • Belgian Style Chocolate
  • Black Cherry
  • Black Cherry Fudge
  • Black Raspberry
  • Blackberry Swirl
  • Blueberry
  • Butter Almond & Chocolate
  • Butter Pecan
  • Caramel, Chocolate & Vanilla Trio’politan
  • Choco Mint Chip
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Marshmallow
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup
  • Chocolate Raspberry Bliss Trio’politan
  • Chocolate Salted Caramel
  • Coco Loco Trio’politan
  • Columbian Coffee
  • Dark Chocolate Caramel Espresso
  • Deep Dark Chocolate
  • Dutch Chocolate
  • Egg Nog
  • French Vanilla
  • Fudge Ripple
  • Gertrude Hawk Box of Chocolates
  • Homemade Vanilla
  • Mango
  • Milk Chocolate Fudge
  • Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Moose Tracks
  • Neapolitan
  • Orange Cream Swirl
  • Original Vanilla
  • Peanut Butter Ripple
  • Peanut Butter Sundae
  • Pistachio Almond
  • Praline Pecan
  • Raspberry Chocolate Chip
  • Raspberry Cream Swirl
  • Rocky Road
  • Rum Raisin
  • Salted Caramel
  • Strawberries and Cream
  • Triple Chocolate Trio’politan
  • Vanilla & Chocolate
  • Vanilla Almond Fudge
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Vanilla Bean & Chocolate
  • Vanilla Peanut Butter
  • Vanilla Salted Caramel

Ingredients: Turkey Hill original vanilla ice cream is made with these ingredients:

Milk, Cream, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey, Nonfat Milk, Cellulose Gel, Cellulose Gum, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Mono & Diglycerides, Carrageenan, Annatto Color, Caramel Color (Allergens: Milk)

Cross-Contact: We wanted to learn more about how Turkey Hill prevents gluten cross-contact, so we emailed them. In response, a Turkey Hill rep said that you’d find gluten in the ice cream only when the flavors contain baked goods (brownies, cookies, cones, etc). To further back this up, Turkey Hill labels its ice cream as gluten-free online.

Umpqua Dairy logo


NOTE: Umpqua gluten-free ice cream is tricky (see below to learn why), but we kept it on this list of gluten-free ice cream brands because it can be safe for many gluten-free eaters.

Umpqua doesn’t specifically list gluten-free flavors on their website, but they give this suggestion when trying to find a flavor of ice cream without gluten:

“Bottom line is that you have to read the ingredient statements for each flavor. If wheat, rye, barely [sic], corn or oat is listed then it has some form of gluten in the ice cream.”

Many gluten-free people will feel comfortable eating Umpqua ice cream just by reading the labels and avoiding products with gluten-containing ingredients. However, if you only eat certified gluten-free ice cream, then Umpqua is not right for you.

Cross-Contact: While Umpqua does follow thorough cleaning and sanitation processes, they will not completely guarantee that their ice cream is gluten-free.

They suggest that people check the labels be on the lookout for wheat, rye, barley, corn and oat additives, as those are an indicator of gluten in their products. (Source: Umpqua)

Where To Buy: You can contact Umpqua directly to find out which stores carry their ice cream in your city. 

Beware When Buying Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands

Our resident pastry chef has some tips to help you when buying gluten-free ice cream.

First, you’ll want to avoid anything with cookies (cookie dough), brownies, or cone pieces unless the product is from one of the certified gluten-free ice cream brands.

Here are additional things to watch out for to keep you safe from gluten cross-contact.


Many sauces (chocolate sauce, caramel sauce) may be thickened with wheat flour, which contains gluten.

Malted Products

Additionally, malted products (malted milk balls) are made of malted barley and wheat flour, which are not safe for celiacs or those with non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Avoid malt in any form, even if the label lists “malt powder.”

Misleading Labels

Remember, the allergen information on the label does not always contain enough data to keep you safe if you have to avoid gluten. That’s because manufacturers only have to list the top eight allergens, which doesn’t include gluten (but it does include wheat).

Barley malt extract, for example, contains no wheat ingredients, so “wheat” wouldn’t be listed on the allergen label of a product containing malt but no wheat. The absence of wheat does not necessarily make the product safe.

Additionally, look for phrases like “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat” because you could get sick from cross-contact, depending on how sensitive you are.

A bowl of multiple scoops of gluten free ice cream.

Gluten-Free Ice Cream FAQ

What ice cream brands are gluten free (or contain gluten-free ice cream flavors)?

  • Arctic Zero
  • Ben & Jerry’s
  • Blue Bell Ice Cream
  • Breyers
  • Cashewtopia by Organic Nectars
  • Coconut Bliss
  • Dreyer’s
  • EDY’s
  • Haagen-Dazs
  • Halo Top
  • NadaMoo!
  • Nick’s Ice Cream
  • Snoqualmie Ice Cream
  • So Delicious
  • Talenti
  • Tillamook
  • Turkey Hill
  • Umpqua

Can celiacs eat ice cream?

Yes, celiac-safe ice cream exists! If you have celiac disease, you’ll be safest eating certified gluten-free ice cream so you won’t have to worry. However, any ice cream with a gluten-free label should be safe.

What is the best gluten-free ice cream?

Everyone likes something different, so it’s hard to definitively say what’s the best gluten-free ice cream brand. However, Ben & Jerry’s is arguably the most popular and has the most widely available gluten-free ice cream options. Many of their beloved flavors are GFCO certified, and Ben & Jerry’s follows strict sanitation policies to help prevent allergen cross-contact.

Is Blue Bunny ice cream gluten-free?

Technically, Blue Bunny ice cream is not gluten-free because they do not validate or certify their products. Basically, the company doesn’t test for gluten, so they can’t label their products as gluten-free. But this doesn’t mean that Blue Bunny is actually unsafe for all gluten-free eaters. Celiacs and the people most sensitive to gluten may want to avoid Blue Bunny ice cream, but some people may find that Blue Bunny is just fine for them. Just make sure to check the labels and look for any gluten-containing products.

Why is ice cream not gluten free naturally?

Ice cream often contains cookies, brownies and other add-ins that are not gluten-free. Malt extract is a very popular sweetener used in ice cream to add a toasted, caramel flavor, but it is not gluten-free because it is derived from barley. Many ice cream manufacturers have started removing these gluten-containing add-ins to create GF ice cream that is safe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Is gluten-free ice cream healthy?

Ice cream without gluten is not healthier than regular ice cream. In general, ice cream typically contains high levels of fat, sugar, and artificial additives; however, gluten-free ice cream can be part of a healthy, balanced diet when consumed in moderation.

Does gluten-free ice cream taste different?

No! Ice cream is easy to make gluten-free, and most people will not notice a difference between gluten-free and regular ice cream. In fact, many of Ben & Jerry’s traditional and well-loved flavors are certified gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands: Share the Love

Grab a gluten-free ice cream cone (they exist!) and heap that sucker with one of these safe gluten-free ice cream options. But before you do, comment below and let us know which of these gluten-free ice cream brands you like the most.

Go get your grub on!

Gluten-free Grubbin'

Recommended Articles