Have you ever driven by a donut shop and suddenly found yourself crying uncontrollably, longing for the heavenly sugar-covered pillows of pure joy and gluten? I mean, me neither. I was totally asking for a friend. But if you ever need a donut fix on a GF diet, where do you turn? Luckily, there are a few gluten-free donut brands you can trust.
Notice that I wrote “few” — as in “three.” We’ve been able to find only three major gluten-free food companies that produce ready-to-eat gluten-free donuts that you can buy at the grocery store. (And one is only in select stores on the east coast.) Other brands offer donut mixes, but we’ve chosen to save those for another list and focus only on options you don’t have to cook — because sometimes you don’t want to take the time to bake those sweet dough rings before shoving them in your mouth.
Want to try your hand at baking your own donuts? Check out these 13 Gluten-Free Flour Brands People Swear By before you get started.
The Best Gluten-Free Donuts You Can Find
Who makes gluten-free donuts? Surprisingly, not a lot of companies offer ready-made gluten-free donuts. We’ve found the two popular brands that do — Katz and Kinnikinnick — and one newer brand that is trying to make a name for itself: Freedom Gluten Free.
Below is a list detailing what donut flavors these companies offer and where we’ve been able to find them.
Gluten-Free Grubbin’ is supported by its readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through our links. We promise we’ll only share products that provide value to the gluten-free community.
Katz is a US-based manufacturer that mainly focuses on producing gluten-free baked goods, including sweet treats and bread.
Here’s a list of gluten-free donuts Katz offers:
- Powdered Donuts
- Glazed Chocolate Donuts
- Cranberry Donuts
- Powdered Donut Holes
- Glazed Chocolate Donut Holes
- Glazed Donuts
- Glazed Donut Holes
- Cinnamon Donut Holes
- Chocolate Frosted Donuts
- Pumpkin Spice Glazed Donuts
- Mini Jelly Donuts
- Chocolate Frosted Sprinkle Donuts
- Triple Chocolate Donuts
- Gingerbread Donuts
- Sea Salt Caramel Donuts
- Cinnamon Donuts
- Cinnamon Protein Donut Holes
- Grab ‘N’ Go – Powdered Donuts
- Grab ‘N’ Go – Cinnamon Donuts
- Powdered Protein Donut Holes
- Plain Donuts
- Apple Fritters
- Blueberry Fritters
- Cherry Fritters
Cross-Contact: Katz’s products are made in a gluten-free, nut-free, and dairy-free facility that is certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group. Katz is a kosher manufacturer. (Source: Katz)
Use this list to find Kinnikinnick gluten-free donuts:
- Cinnamon Sugar Donuts
- Chocolate Dipped Donuts
- Vanilla Glazed Donuts
- Maple Glazed Donuts
- Soft Donuts
Cross-Contact: All Kinnikinnick products are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Program and are kosher. They’re also produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility, where all products are kept separate until they have been tested and found to have less than 5 ppm of gluten. Kinnikinnick foods are lab tested to ensure they are also free from dairy, tree nuts, peanuts, and soy. (Source: Kinnikinnick)
Freedom Gluten Free
Freedom Gluten Free is the only brand on this list that makes GF donuts and nothing else. Here’s a list of the flavors they offer:
- Apple Cider Doughnut Minis
- Birthday Cake Doughnuts
- Devil’s Food Chocolate Minis
- Full Sized Novelty Doughnuts
- Full Sized Chocolate Mint
- Old Fashioned Glazed Minis
- Pumpkin Doughnuts
(Note: Their flavor list tends to fluctuate quite a lot, but the Devil’s Food, Old Fashioned and Apple Cider appear to be staples.)
Cross-Contact: Freedom Gluten Free doughnuts are certified gluten-free by the Gluten Intolerance Group and are free from dairy, soy, peanuts, and tree nuts. They are also kosher certified. We reached out to learn more about how Freedom keeps its facilities free from cross-contact with gluten, and a company rep said, “We also do our own testing periodically just to ensure none of our ingredients are ever cross contaminated before they get to us!” (Source: Freedom Gluten Free)
3 Things To Know Before Buying Gluten-Free Donuts
If you are new to the gluten-free diet and just found out you can have donuts that are free from gluten, you need to know these three things to temper your expectations and find the best product available.
1. Gluten-Free Donuts Are Usually Frozen
If you’re roaming the store aisles and unable to find GF donuts, don’t leave without checking the frozen food section. Both Kinnikinnick and Katz donuts are the “thaw and serve” type, which means you need to keep them frozen until you’re ready to eat them.
2. It Can Be Hard To Find Yeast Donuts
Yeast donuts are the light and airy donuts you find in most donut shops. The dough is leavened with yeast and then fried. Those are very hard to come by and usually only available in gluten-free bakeries. Still, you’re not likely to find them that often. However, most gluten-free donuts are cake donuts, which means they’re made from a batter that is placed in a donut mold and baked.
3. You Can Use Donuts To Replace Bread
Many people don’t realize that gluten-free donuts are often great to use when you don’t have bread or want to try something new. We’re serious! For example, you can cut up donuts and use them in a bread pudding recipe, or use them to replace the ladyfingers in your Tiramisu recipe. You can also cut a donut in half to use as a hamburger bun for the ultimate combination of sweet and savory. Try it; you’ll thank us.
Gluten-Free Donuts FAQ
Who sells gluten-free donuts?
- Freedom Gluten Free
Can celiacs eat donuts?
Yes, celiacs can eat donuts as long as they are gluten-free. If you have celiac disease, ask if the bakery or manufacturer has a dedicated gluten-free facility or products that are certified gluten-free. This will better ensure that you don’t get sick from gluten cross-contact.
Can glazed donuts be frozen?
Glazed donuts can absolutely be frozen! In fact, you’ll almost always find them in the freezer aisle.
Are gluten-free donuts dairy-free?
While not all gluten-free donuts are made without dairy, all donuts made by Katz and Kinnikinnick are dairy-free.
What are gluten-free donuts made of?
Gluten-free donuts are typically made from gluten-free flour, dough binders, rising agents, and flavorings.
Are gluten-free donuts healthy?
Unfortunately, just because donuts are gluten-free doesn’t mean that they are healthy. However, like with everything in life, when eaten in moderation, donuts are a fine addition to most people’s gluten-free diets.
Are gluten-free donuts low FODMAP?
Most donuts, whether gluten-free or not, are not low FODMAP if they contain sugar, high-fructose corn syrup, or honey. If you’re on a low FODMAP diet, look for donuts made with maple syrup or glucose syrup instead.
Gluten-Free Donuts You Can Trust
Why don’t more companies make donuts without gluten? It seems like a winning market to get into, but what do I know? At least we have options to save us if we’re in the mood for gluten-free donuts but don’t want to visit a bakery.
We hope you’ve found this list helpful. Let us know below which donut flavor is your favorite!
Go get your grub on!