Ben & Jerry’s Gluten-Free Ice Cream List (Updated 2024)

Ben & Jerry's now offers certified gluten-free ice cream.

Table of Contents

We all know and love Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. Since 1978, the company has made original ice cream flavors and used its platform to bring attention to social and political issues. The brand is all about doing better and being better, about unity and inclusion, so I wondered how they would approach the community of people who begged for Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free ice cream.

Gluten-Free Grubbin’ is supported by its readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through our links. We promise we’ll only share products that provide value to the gluten-free community.

Look for Certified Logos on Ben & Jerry’s Gluten-Free Ice Cream

In October 2020, Ben & Jerry’s announced that they updated their testing protocols to ensure that they meet the Gluten-Free Certification Organization’s standards. In the past, consumers had to look at labels to see if the products had gluten-containing foods, but that still left some people with concerns over whether the manufacturing facility was safe from gluten cross-contact. Now, any new gluten-free ice cream flavors that meet gluten-free certification standards will carry the GFCO logo, which gives gluten-free consumers confidence in knowing that they can trust the brand to keep them safe.

Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Ben & Jerry’s Gluten-Free Flavors List

The following lists contain both Ben & Jerry’s certified gluten-free ice cream flavors and naturally gluten-free ice cream flavors.

Ben & Jerry’s Certified Gluten-Free Ice Cream Flavors

The following Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free ice cream flavors are certified by the GFCO:

  • Bananas Foster​ Non-Dairy
  • Boom Chocolatta!® Non-Dairy
  • Cherry Garcia® (pints and mini cups)
  • Cherry Garcia FroYo
  • Cherry Garcia Non-Dairy
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Split
  • Chunky Monkey®
  • Coffee Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz®
  • Coffee Toffee Bar Crunch
  • Everything But The…®
  • Karamel Sutra Core®
  • Karamel Sutra Core® Non-Dairy
  • New York Super Fudge Chunk®
  • Oatmeal Dream Pie™ Non-Dairy
  • Peanut Butter Cup
  • Peanut Butter Fudge Core
  • Phish Food®
  • Phish Food® Non-Dairy
  • Pistachio Pistachio
  • Salted Caramel Almond
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla Caramel Fudge

Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Ben & Jerry’s Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Ice Cream Flavors

Here’s a list of all of the dairy-free Ben & Jerry’s ice cream flavors that are also certified by the GFCO:

  • Bananas Foster​ Non-Dairy
  • Boom Chocolatta!® Non-Dairy
  • Cherry Garcia Non-Dairy
  • Karamel Sutra Core® Non-Dairy
  • Phish Food® Non-Dairy

Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Ben & Jerry’s Naturally Gluten-Free Ice Cream Flavors

The following Ben & Jerry’s flavors have no gluten-containing ingredients, but they are not certified gluten-free. These flavors will be safe for most gluten-free eaters:

  • Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet
  • Butter Pecan Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Buttery Swirl Ice Cream
  • Coconut Almond Fudge Chip Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert
  • Coffee Caramel Fudge Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert
  • Cold Brew Coffee Fudge Chip Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert
  • Go-To Cold Brew Ice Cream
  • Lemonade Sorbet
  • Mint Chocolate Chunk Ice Cream
  • Punch Line Ice Cream
  • Raspberry Low Fat Frozen Yogurt
  • Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Triple Caramel Chunk Ice Cream

Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Ben & Jerry’s Response Regarding Gluten Cross-Contact

We received the following response from Ben & Jerry’s when we inquired about how they prevent contact with gluten in their facilities:

We have a very proactive approach to addressing the concerns of gluten-restricted and other food allergic individuals.  We work closely with all of our ingredient suppliers, including packaging, to verify all ingredient components.  This includes those ingredients in natural flavors, colors and spices that would be a concern to our customers, such as gluten.  We ensure that this information is then included on our product’s ingredient label.  In the case of gluten, we would state in the ingredient label “wheat flour” or “flour” as being included …

… we always strongly encourage anyone with an allergy to read the label each time a purchase is made. 

Ben & Jerry’s Consumer Services
Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Prevent Gluten Cross-Contact at Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shops

For people with celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or wheat allergies, gluten cross-contact is always a concern. This concern is especially heightened in an ice cream parlor where workers tend to use one scoop for all the ice cream options. B & J addressed this by indicating that their Scoop Shops will carry ice cream with the same Ben & Jerry’s certified gluten-free ice cream ingredients sold in their pints; however, the Scoop Shop ice cream cannot be considered certified-gluten free. To minimize any health risks while still allowing people to enjoy the ice cream, B & J tells consumers to ask their scoopers to open a fresh tub of any of the gluten-free ice cream flavors and to use a new scoop.

Credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Choose Ben & Jerry’s Gluten-Free Ice Cream With Confidence

As a person with celiac disease, it’s so exciting to see major brands like Ben & Jerry’s and Oreo come out with certified gluten-free options of the products we love. (Now, who is running to the store to go get Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free ice cream? I’ll take three pints!)

Go get your grub on!

Gluten-free Grubbin'

Recommended Articles