Top 10 Gluten-Free Candy Brands

Many popular candies have gluten-free ingredients but are manufactured on shared equipment that processes gluten, making them unsafe for some people.

Table of Contents

Did you know that in the early 18th century, candy was typically consumed only by the wealthy? What a shame! Today, candy is available to everyone — even people who cannot eat wheat or gluten. Thankfully, more gluten-free candy brands are popping up, but some of your childhood favorites are actually safe for you to eat on your gluten-free diet.

Are you in the mood for baked goods instead of candy? Check out our list of gluten-free donuts and where you can shop for them.

Gluten-Free Candy List

We’ve created a list of top gluten-free candy companies (or popular brands that have gluten-free candy offerings) and the products that those companies say are safe for people who cannot eat gluten. 

Gluten-Free Grubbin’ is supported by its readers. We may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you if you buy through our links. We promise we’ll only share products that provide value to the gluten-free community.


  • All Black Forest Gummies
  • All Ferrara Gummies
  • All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc.)
  • All Sathers Gummies
  • All Trolli Gummies EXCEPT Trolli Sour Brite Bites and Trolli Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Berry Chewy Lemonhead
  • Bob’s Sweet Stripes
  • Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
  • Brach’s Chocolates – Peanut Caramel Clusters, Peanut Clusters, Stars, Chocolate Covered Raisins,
  • Brach’s Cinnamon Disks
  • Brach’s Candy Corn – All Varieties
  • Brach’s Cinnamon Imperials  
  • Brach’s Conversation Hearts
  • Brach’s Double Dipped Peanuts/Double Dippers (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
  • Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes – All Varieties
  • Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats
  • Brach’s Lemon Drops
  • Brach’s Wild ‘N Fruity Gummi Worms
  • Candy Canes (Bob’s, Brach’s, Lemonhead & Friends, Red Hots)
  • Cherry Sours
  • Cherryhead
  • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
  • Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
  • Grapehead
  • Gumballs
  • Jawbreakers / Jawbusters
  • Jelly Beans
  • Juju’s
  • Jujy’s
  • Lemonheads
  • Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
  • Now & Later
  • Red Hot’s
  • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead

Cross-Contact: Ferrara’s website didn’t have a statement regarding how they prevent allergen cross-contact, so we reached out to them. In an email response, they said that their products could be made at more than one location. Because of that, it is important to read the packaging to verify if they are made in a shared facility or not.

Ferrara’s website does warn that product safety may change:

“Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Ferrara does not provide allergen or gluten-free lists on this site.”



  • Almond Joy – Note: Except Almond Joy Pieces
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai and Blueberry Flavors
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji and Raspberry Flavors
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Mango and Mangosteen Flavors
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Merlot Grape and Black Currant Flavors
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Flavor
  • Brookside Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
  • Heath Bar
  • Hershey’s Hugs Candy
  • Hershey’s Kisses – Hot Cocoa
  • Hershey’s Kisses Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle
  • Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates
  • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate
  • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
  • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
  • Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45oz only)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
  • Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
  • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
  • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
  • Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
  • Hershey’s Special Dark Snack Bars
  • Hershey’s Giant Kiss (7 oz. only)
  • Hershey’s Kisses – Candy Cane
  • Hershey’s Kisses – Espresso
  • Hershey’s Kisses – Kiss Deluxe
  • Hershey’s Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate 
  • Hershey’s Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
  • Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds Bars
  • PayDay Candy
  • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
  • Reese’s Nutrageous Bar (Standard and King)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – Note: All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
  • Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
  • Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Cups –  Note: All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
  • Reese’s Potato Chips Big Cup
  • Reese’s Pretzels Big Cup (seriously, they are gluten free!)
  • Reese’s Unwrapped Mini Minis – Milk Chocolate and White
  • Rolo Cream Caramels Wrapped in Rich Chocolate Candy – Note: Except Rolo Minis
  • Skor Toffee Bars
  • York Peppermint Patties – Note: Except York Pieces Candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes. 

Cross-Contact: Hershey’s states that the gluten-free candy listed on its website qualifies as gluten free under the guidelines set forth by the FDA. Hershey’s also conducts its own testing to verify that its products marked “gluten-free” have less than 20 parts per million of gluten. 

Because Hershey’s doesn’t have information specifically regarding how they avoid gluten cross-contact, we reached out to them. In a response email, a Hershey’s representative stated that the company has strict internal policies for cleaning and testing to better ensure the safety of their products. Hershey’s does not use an outside source to test or certify their products as gluten free. Also, while they do have products that are inherently gluten free, if they haven’t undergone the company’s testing, then those products will not be labeled as gluten free. Because of this, Hershey’s was unable to say which candies under the brands Cadbury, Jolly Rancher, Ice Breakers, and Breath Savers are gluten free. (Source: Hershey’s)

Impact Confections

  • HOTHEADS Worms
  • Melster Candy Corn Taffy, Fruity Crème Taffy, Peppermint Crème Taffy, Fall Festival Taffy, Pumpkin Spice Taffy
  • Melster Chocolate Covered Crème Drops
  • Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow
  • Melster Circus Peanuts
  • Melster Compound Coated Crème Drops
  • Melster Compound Coated Marshmallow
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses
  • Melster Salt Water Taffy, Caramel Apple Taffy, and Ice Cream Shoppe Taffy
  • Melster Sanded Marshmallow
  • WARHEADS Bubble Gum Pops
  • WARHEADS Colossal Sours
  • WARHEADS Extreme Sour Hard Candy
  • WARHEADS Large Sour Candy Canes
  • WARHEADS Sour Candy Canes
  • WARHEADS Sour Chewy Cubes 
  • WARHEADS Sour Dippers
  • WARHEADS Sour Dippin’ Pucker Packs
  • WARHEADS Sour Dippin’ Rings
  • WARHEADS Sour Jelly Beans
  • WARHEADS Sour Pops
  • WARHEADS Sour Worms
  • WARHEADS Super Sour Double Drops
  • WARHEADS Super Sour Spray Candy
  • WARHEADS Twisted Taffy

Cross-Contact: On Impact’s website, you can find a list of all Impact gluten-free candy and whether it was made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. However, they don’t have information regarding how they prevent gluten cross-contact, so we reached out to them. (Source: Impact)

An Impact Confections rep replied with the following:

“Any allergens are stored separately, and we do special sanitizing between production runs that contain allergens, as well as swab and test the area before starting a new product run; however, this is still a shared facility and if you have a super sensitivity, or celiacs, it may be best to avoid our products.”


Jelly Belly 

  • All Jelly Belly products are considered gluten-free candy, except Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels. 

Cross-Contact: Jelly Belly states that the majority of their products are gluten free. They don’t have a specific policy on gluten cross-contact, so we reached out to them. In an email response, a Jelly Belly rep said that while they do have some dedicated gluten-free facilities, their manufacturing and packaging can quickly move from one facility to another. Because of this, they do not mark their products as being made in gluten-free facilities. The confections that contain no gluten-containing ingredients are considered gluten-free candies according to the FDA regulations. (Source: Jelly Belly)

Just Born  

  • Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews
  • Hot Tamales
  • Mike and Ike
  • Peeps

Cross-Contact: Just Born indicates that some of its gluten-free candy is made in a shared facility, so it is important to check the package for the possibility of gluten cross-contact. We reached out to them to find out more about how they avoid allergen cross-contact. A Just Born company rep emailed back but simply restated what was already on their website. (Source: Just Born)

Mars Wrigley

Unfortunately, we are unable to list any of the candies made by Mars, but we still included them in our list because they are such a big corporation and seem to manufacture gluten-free candies, at least according to the ingredient list. But are those candies safe for people who are sensitive to gluten? We reached out to Mars for a list of gluten-free candy and more details about their policy on gluten cross-contact. A Mars Wrigley rep replied with the following:

“The ingredient statement on each wrapper is the best source for this information. The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network advises consumers to rely on ingredient labels, not lists that can become outdated when products change.”

Mars Wrigley


  • Candy Money
  • Giant Smarties
  • Giant Smarties Pops
  • Lollies
  • Love Hearts
  • Mega Lollies
  • Mega Smarties
  • Mega Tropical Lollies
  • Original
  • Smarties in a Pouch
  • Theater Box
  • Tropical
  • X-treme Sour 

Cross-Contact: Smarties is a completely gluten-free candy brand. It also specifies that if the products’ UPC numbers start with “0 11206,” then the product was made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. (Source: Smarties)

Spangler Candy 

  • Candy Canes
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Dum Dums
  • Saf-T-Pops

Cross-Contact: Spangler Candy states that they have dedicated gluten-free facilities and clean their lines every day. Spangler Candy also tests their products twice a year and requests that each of their suppliers provide a yearly allergen report to verify that their products are safe. (Source: Spangler Candy)


  • Andes
  • Candy Blox
  • Candy Carnival
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Cella’s Cherries
  • Charleston Chew
  • Charms
  • Child’s Play
  • Cry Baby
  • DOTS
  • Dubble Bubble
  • Fluffy Stuff
  • Frooties
  • Fruit Chew Pops
  • Fruit Chews
  • Junior Mints
  • Mini Bites
  • Nik-L-Nip
  • Razzles
  • Sugar Babies
  • Sugar Daddy
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Wack-O-Wax

Cross-Contact: All Tootsie candy is gluten-free, according to its website. (Source: Tootsie)

Trader Joe’s

While Trader Joe’s technically is not one of the gluten-free candy brands committed to providing confections only, it offers candies that are gluten-free. 

  • Cocoa Truffles
  • Dark Chocolate Honey Mints
  • Dark Chocolate Nutty Bits
  • Dark Chocolate Orange Sticks
  • Dark Chocolate Sunflower Seed Butter Cups
  • Fruit Jellies
  • Gourmet Jelly Beans
  • Organic Dark Chocolate PB&J Minis
  • Organic Fruit Flavored Snacks 
  • Organic Gingermints
  • Organic Peppermints
  • Organic Pops
  • Super Sour Scandinavian Swimmers

Cross-Contact: Trader Joe’s states that it follows FDA guidelines and tests all products to ensure that they are below 20 parts per million of gluten. In an effort to get more information about how they prevent gluten cross-contact, we reached out to the company. A Trader Joe’s representative simply replied via email with the same paragraph that is posted on their website, giving no additional information regarding how they prevent cross-contact with gluten. (Source: Trader Joe’s)

Buy Gluten-Free Candy With Confidence

We hope that you find this gluten-free candy list helpful as you search for a sweet that is safe for you to eat. If you’ve found other gluten-free candy brands that you love and trust, please share them with us in the comments! Additionally, if you’ve tried any of these gluten-free candies and feel that you were glutened from them, we’d love to know that as well! Share the love so we can all stay safe!

Go get your grub on!

Gluten-free Grubbin'

Recommended Articles