Did you know that Americans eat approximately 14 pounds of cereal each year? That’s because it’s perfect for breakfast, second breakfast, lunch, elevenses, and dinner! Sure, a lot of cereal options are not safe for people who must eat a gluten-free diet, but there are still gluten-free cereal brands available that offer delicious products to fill your belly.
Want donuts for breakfast instead? Check out our list of popular gluten-free donut brands.
Top Gluten-Free Cereal Brands
We’ve compiled a list of popular gluten-free cereal manufacturers you can turn to and products those brands say are safe for people who cannot eat gluten. We’ve also included where you can buy these cereals so you can get your munch on!
This post is informational only. Gluten-Free Grubbin’ will not receive compensation in any form for mentioning these products or brands.
- Organic Maple Buckwheat Flakes
- Organic Gluten Free Sprouted Corn Flakes
Cross-Contamination: Arrowhead Mills guarantees that their products are “truly gluten free.” The products are thoroughly tested, and the production facilities are monitored to safeguard accidental cross-contamination. (Source: Arrowhead Mills)
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Natural Grocers, and Walmart. To locate Arrowhead Mills gluten-free cereal near you, use their Find a Store search option.
- Puffins Multigrain Cereal
- Puffins Protein Berry Burst Cereal
- Puffins Honey Rice Cereal
- Puffins Pumpkin Cereal
- Organic Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
- Organic Corn Flakes Cereal
Cross-Contamination: Barbara’s is another one of the gluten-free cereal brands that doesn’t list on their website how they maintain a safe, gluten-free environment, so we emailed the company. Their email response is slightly confusing because their product names listed in the email do not reflect what is listed on the website, though the names are close. (The dietary filter on Barbara’s website generated the list above.)
Barbara’s representative stated that the company tests its gluten-free cereals and snacks to ensure that they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. They suggest that you always look at the product’s labels to ensure that the ingredients haven’t changed.
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Barbara’s, Fred Meyer, New Seasons, Safeway, Trader Joe’s, Walmart, Whole Foods, and QFC. Consult this product locator tool to find Barbara’s products near you.
- Lucky Charms
- Blueberry Chex
- Chocolate Chex
- Cinnamon Chex
- Corn Chex
- Honey Nut Chex
- Peanut Butter Chex
- Rice Chex
- Vanilla Chex
- Toasted Coconut Cheerios
- Blueberry Cheerios
- Maple Cheerios
- Peach Cheerios
- Original Cheerios
- Honey Nut Cheerios
- Multi Grain Cheerios
- Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
- Chocolate Cheerios
- Fruity Cheerios
- Frosted Cheerios
- Banana Nut Cheerios
- Pumpkin Spice Cheerios
- Very Berry Cheerios
- Gluten Free Honey Vanilla Crunch Cereal
Cross-Contamination: According to General Mills, all their products that carry the gluten-free claim on the packaging are extensively analyzed at the ingredient, manufacturing and product levels. These same products meet the FDA’s standards for gluten-free foods. However, while their production lines are considered gluten-free, these products are not necessarily made in dedicated plants. General Mills takes precautions to ensure that gluten exposure does not occur.
In an email from General Mills, a consumer relations representative states that a GM product will not carry a gluten-free label, even if that product doesn’t have gluten-containing ingredients, unless the company can verify that all aspects of the sourcing and manufacturing process are free from gluten. (Source: General Mills’)
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Fred Meyer, QFC, Rite Aid, Safeway, Target, Walgreens, Walmart, Whole Foods, and WinCo. You can use the General Mills product locator to see which stores in your area carry certain GM products.
Why Do Some People Say Cheerios Are Not Gluten Free?
Many people with wheat and gluten sensitivities have reported that eating Cheerios produces a gluten reaction, making them sick. Some people believe that this may be because General Mills uses equipment that mechanically separates oats (naturally gluten free) from wheat, rye and barley (not gluten free), which could cross-contaminate the oats. If you have celiac disease or a severe reaction to even small amounts of gluten, then you may want to consider avoiding cereals with oats. Use your best judgment and follow your gut (literally)!
- Special K Gluten Free Cereal – Touch of Brown Sugar
- Kashi Simply Maize cereal
- Kashi Indigo Morning cereal
- Kashi Clusters, Vanilla Pepita cereal
Cross-Contamination: Kellogg’s states that they meet the FDA guidelines required for labeling products “gluten free.” Using testing, they verify that all products contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. Additionally, all gluten-free products and facilities are comprehensively assessed and qualified. (Source: Kellogg’s; List of GF Products)
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Costco, Target, Safeway, Walgreens, Walmart, and Whole Foods. Kelloggs has a Where to Buy search function you can use to find their products near you.
- Golden Turmeric Cereal
- Purple Bam! Cereal
- Qi’a Coconut Chia Superflakes
- Qi’a Cocoa Coconut Superflakes
- Qi’a Honey Chia Superflakes
- Qi’a Cranberry Vanilla Chia, Buckwheat & Hemp Cereal
- Qi’a Original Chia, Buckwheat & Hemp Cereal
- Envirokidz Amazon Flakes
- Envirokidz Panda Puffs
- Envirokidz Leapin’ Memurs
- Envirokidz Cheetah Chomps
- Envirokidz Gorilla Munch
- Envirokidz Koala Crisp
- Envirokidz Jungle Munch
- Envirokidz Turtle Splash
- Sunrise Crunchy Honey Cereal
- Fruit Juice Corn Flakes
- Honey’d Corn Flakes
- Whole O’s Cereal
- Crispy Rice Cereal
- Purple Acai Cereal
- Sunrise Crunchy Maple Cereal
- Sunrise Crunchy Vanilla Cereal
- Sunrise Crunchy Cinnamon Cereal
- Mesa Sunrise Flakes
- Mesa Sunrise and Raisins
Cross-Contamination: Nature’s Path does not have a statement on avoiding cross-contamination, so we emailed the company to learn more. We learned that while the company does make gluten-containing cereals, it makes the gluten-free cereal first. After products that contain gluten, soy, and nuts are made, the production line is cleaned.
Nature’s Path also periodically tests and inspects the products for gluten contamination. Ingredients that are used in gluten-free products are stored in a segregated part of the facility. The company checks that GFCO-certified products come in at 10 ppm, and gluten-free oat products at 20 ppm. Nature’s Path warns that people with high gluten sensitivities should consult their doctors before eating Nature’s Path gluten-free products.
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Costco, Fred Meyer, Natural Grocers, Nature’s Path, New Seasons, Target, Safeway, Walgreens, Walmart, and Whole Foods. This store finder will help you find Nature’s Paths cereal in your city.
- Malt-O-Meal Cocoa Dyno-Bites
- Malt-O-Meal Cocoa Dyno-Bites with Marshmallows
- Malt-O-Meal Fruity Dyno-Bites
- Malt-O-Meal Fruity Dyno-Bites with Marshmallows
- Malt-O-Meal Crispy Rice
- Fruity Pebbles
- Cocoa Pebbles
- Peanut Butter & Cocoa Pebbles
Cross-Contamination: The Post Consumer Brands website simply encourages consumers to read the product’s ingredient statement and to look for the “’gluten free’ burst on packages” to ensure that the item is safe.
To better verify safety, we emailed Post for more information. The company replied saying that it meets the HACCP’s and FDA’s regulations to control allergens.
Allergen-containing ingredients are separately stored from non-allergen-containing ingredients. After a production run, the company cleans up, though it is not clear exactly what is cleaned. The packaging and processing area is cleared of allergen-containing products/ingredients when the production run is complete. Neither gluten nor wheat are specifically mentioned in this response. (Source: Post)
Where To Buy: Albertsons, Amazon, Safeway, Target, and Walmart. Post’s buy now tool allows you to search for a specific brand and product flavor in or around your zip code.
Our goal in providing this list of gluten-free cereal brands is to be a support to communities that cannot tolerate gluten. If you’ve tasted any of these cereals, let us know what you think of them!
Go get your grub on!